Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lesson: One  Part 2/2

TheVirtuousLife

When I think about the Proverbs 31 Woman, the first thing I ask myself is…

issheforreal

“Oh, yes,” I assure myself.  This does look like the “Life-Time” of one woman. She was called to accomplish many special assignments over different seasons of her life.

When I look back fifteen years ago, to my season of being a new mommy (Proverbs 1:27), I was knee deep in diapers and baby bottles. Three babies in 366 days…wow…my life consisted of baby, baby, husband, baby, housework…and very little sleep. I could not have managed one more thing, and the Lord knew that.  He was with me through thick and thin. I cried out for Him over and over, and He answered me! In His silence, He answered. You see, God was “doing a work in me,” even when I couldn’t see it happening.  God used those days to make me more aware of my need for him. This is transformation. In what looked like some of my darkest hours, that was where He changed me. That time in my life consisted of many hills and valleys. It was in the VALLEYS, not the hills, when I walked closest to Him.

Today, at the age of 44, I watch over the affairs of my home (Proverbs 1:27), I sew (Proverbs 1:13, 22), I homeschool my children (Proverbs 1:26), and I manage a successful excavating company with my husband, near Milwaukee, Wisconsin (Proverbs 1:17-18).  This season looks very different from the last.  Now I ponder the thought of my teenagers leaving the nest. I imagine over the next five years assisting my aging parents and in-laws through some very difficult times.  I love that God’s grace travels with me as I grow older. I love how He gently transformed me back then, to face the trials of today. And He continues in His transforming work right now.

I challenge you today to reread Proverbs 31:10-31 today. See how your current season of life is different from your past season. Jot down how your life parallels the Proverbs 31 Woman’s life, as I did in my above paragraph.

Take some time this week to look around…. See if you can spot some Proverbs 31 Women in your life. They are out there, serving, loving, encouraging, in the quietest of places, drawing no attention to themselves.

In closing, I am reminded of what Darlene shared in the last paragraph of lesson one,

itsonething

Below…I took a closer look at Proverbs 31: 10-31 and “broke-down” each verse in my own words.

She is priceless  (vs.10)

She has the confidence of her husband (vs.11)

She brings him good not harm ….through her attitude (vs.12)

She’s not a lazy woman, but a diligent worker (vs.13)

She’s not afraid to travel distances to provide quality food and clothing. (vs.14)

She does not remain in bed all morning. She rises while it is still dark to enjoy her quiet time with the Lord.  After she’s been spiritually fed, she provides food for her household, and hands out the daily “to do lists” to her servant girls. (vs.15)

She is a businesswoman, buying a field with CASH and not CREDIT. (vs.16)

She is spiritually, physically, and emotionally strong.  She is diligent and works quickly. (vs.17)

She knows her business well.  She passes up business offers that are not profitable.  She invests the time needed to make her business thrive. (vs. 18)

The wool and flax she may have harvested from her sheep, she is now spinning, so it can be woven into clothing. (vs. 19)

She is quite generous with her time, money, and belongings. (vs. 20)

She takes scarlet (an expensive fabric) and sews clothing, jackets, ropes, bedding, linens….  She is so prepared, she has no fear.  Not only has she prepared herself and her family physically, but spiritually as well.  She is not controlled by her circumstances or surroundings. (vs. 21)

She has some “choice pieces” of clothing, as purple fabric was costly.  I am not saying she’s wealthy, but she certainly is wise.  Because she was a talented seamstress, she knows the importance of quality, over quantity.  She is careful about her style of clothing and how she represents our husband.  Because the average person spends 1/3 of their life in bed, she sews coverings for the marriage bed, so it looks lovely for their time together. (vs. 22)

Her husband lives a life of honor and respect, as he is an elder in the land.  (vs.23)

Now that her children, husband, an entire household are clothed for the season, her focus turns back to her business. She designs and sews linen garments and selling them to individuals.  Now the sashes, it appears that she sells them in large quantities to the merchants to possibly export to other countries. (vs. 24)

She is clothed with strength and dignity and has a good sense of herself.  Darlene mentioned in Lesson two, how we need to ”PUT ON THE CLOAK” of virtue.  This is a great example of how the Proverbs 31 Woman dresses in strength and dignity all the time.  It is not something she takes off, she is clothed with it.  (vs.25)

Wisdom and faithfulness occupied her heart and proceeds from her lips.  Because she spends time with her Lord on a daily basis, His word has filled her heart, and flows from her tongue.  This reminds me of Proverbs 1:6, “For the Lord gives wisdom, and from His mouth comes knowledge and understanding.”  (vs. 26)

As she watches over the affairs of her house, she is a busy lady and not a busybody. (vs.27)

She is praise by her family…  No self praise for her. (vs.28)

She has surpassed the noblest of women by the way she chooses to live….that includes Ruth, Esther, Abigail etc… (vs. 29)

She fears the Lord…  She possesses inward beauty. (vs.30)

She earns her reward…  Her works bring her praise not only at home, but at the city gate as well. (vs.31)

Choose today to live a life pleasing to God.

Grow in Virtue my dear sisters!!

Blessings~

joan greeb

