Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Reaping and Sowing…..

So….

Sow Generously

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

6 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.  8 And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

Do you know how many kernels of corn are on one cob?

Well, if you sow just one little-tiny kernel you will reap approximately 800 kernels on one cob. Now think about this…you MUST give up one seed in order to recieve 800!!

Now this seems pretty simple here.

Give 1, get 800….  When you plant corn, you get corn…

Genesis 1:11 NIV
Then God said, “Let the land produce vegetation: seed-bearing plants and trees on the land that bear fruit with seed in it, according to their various kinds.” And it was so.

I love that God used nature to demonstrate this universal principle.
Dr. Charles Stanley states, “… you reap what you sow, more than you sow, and later than you sow (Life Principle #6).

This Principle is not only for Followers of Christ but for everyone. In the best-selling book, Rich Dad-Poor Dad, author Robert Kiyosaki states that if your business is struggling financially you should give money away. Now, Robert is a multi-millionaire, and a follower of this world, so his perspective here is “GIVE TO GET,” where as Believers, our mindset should be Christ-focused “GIVE TO BLESS.”

…when I choose to “give,” others are blessed…well….You know who is also REALLY blessed? It’s me! It is an absolute privilege to be used of our God in the area of “giving.”  My Master owns the cattle on a thousand hills; He does not NEED me. But He will use me when I make myself “available” to Him to be used.

In 2 Corinthians 9:6-8 Paul shares with the Believers in Corinth the secrets to “giving.”

2 Corinthians 9: 7 Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give,

1st : Decide in your heart through prayer~ open communication with God
When you feel lead to give of the resources that God has blessed you with, first and foremost…PRAY ABOUT IT. Ask God…. Where, when, and who will be receiving this gift. Remember God works for eternity; He doesn’t just work for the here and now. His timing is perfect and with His directions you will never get lost. All we must do is listen and obey. God does not want you giving simply because you are a nice person. He wants to involve you in “purposeful giving.” As women who love the Lord, we are His hands, His feet, and His heart to this lost world.

The Bible Passage below is a wonderful example of a woman who did just as Paul mentioned to the Corinthians.

Mark 12:41-44 NIV
41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny
43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.”

2 Corinthians 9:7 …… not reluctantly or under compulsion,

Next:  When God prompts you to give, don’t wait!!

As a woman, wife, and mother, I have experienced times in my life when the Lord has prompted me to give, but I stood in the way of the work He wanted to accomplish through me!  I have learned many of life’s lessons the hard way.  I know of two times where I stood in His way in the area of sowing generously. The reason it happened twice is because I DIDN’T learn my lesson the first time. I sometimes can be my worst enemy.  You may even be asking yourself, “Why didn’t Joan just listen to God?”

My first mistake….

  • When the Lord was prompting me to sow generously I started asking Him questions like….

You want me to sow how much?

Are You sure?

Can You send me a sign?

Can You confirm that with my husband?

My next mistake….

  •  I began to worry….

the kids that need shoes

Dave needs medicine

the mortgage

the bills, bills, bills

I started to focus on my “earthly treasures.”

My final and most costly mistake….

  •  I continued to WAIT and not immediately obey. I talked myself out of God’s blessing… for both the person who would receive it, and for the JOY of giving it. Foolishly, I thought that I knew better

I traded the JOY of the Lord

for the WORRIES of this world.

Conculsion:

2 Corinthians 9:7    ….for God loves a cheerful giver.

During the 3 months of “not obeying” the Lord’s leading to sow generously, the Holy Spirit continued to gently prod me with the same request.  Many times while I did the dishes, God would ask me “Joan, When are you going to obey me? When are you going to do what I’ve asked of you?”  After long conversations with the Lord, I am happy to say that I did finally obey and I did it cheerfully.  The Lord has blessed me with the gift of “free will.”  Many years have passed since this occurred and I am a lot wiser thanks to God’s grace, mercy and love.

I am blessed to be called His child.

In His Service, ~Joan

