Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today,  I would like to offer some findings that shows us as woman where our gender fits in the “World of Finance.”

What was even more shocking, was the information I found  at  http://articles.businessinsider.com/2011-05-23/markets/30101275_1_consumer-debt-credit-cards-student-loans#ixzz28ObR0PM

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

At  http://www.statisticbrain.com/women-financial-statistics/  the statistic are as follows:

Statistic Verification
Source: General Social Survey,   Federal Reserve
Date Verified: 4.4.2012
Women Financial Statistics
Percent of married women who identified themselves as the principle household shopper 90 %
Percent of women who have no money left after paying bills 54 %
Percent of households where the husband works and the wife doesn’t 16 %
Percent of the impoverished elderly who are women 87 %

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Some of this infomation is very startling. As I am aging, I see the importance of reminding myself what God’s Word says about money.  It is of the utmost importance to walk in obedience to God’s Word.

As a result of the staggering percentage of impoverished elderly women, good financial habits are a must.

I would like to address some of the LIES that I, myself have fallen victim to over the past 40+ years of my life.

  • THE FINANCIAL LIES we as woman tell ourselves…..

As a single woman, my family members tell me I spend money “like water.”  I think they are just jealous of me, since I have a cool car and the nicest clothes.  What do they know? Who are they to advise me on my finances? My parents are still living in the same house I grew up in. They live like paupers when I know they have money.

Hey! I am young! I have plenty of time to save in my 30’s, 40’s and 50’s.  You know what they say…”Live for today!”

Guard your heart…

Proverbs 17:16 NIV

Of what use is money in the hand of a fool,
since he has no desire to get wisdom?

Proverbs 15:22 NIV

Plans fail for lack of counsel,
but with many advisers they succeed.

Ecclesiastes 7:12 NIV

Wisdom is a shelter
as money is a shelter,
but the advantage of knowledge is this:
that wisdom preserves the life of its possessor.

Proverbs 11:14 NIV

For lack of guidance a nation falls,
but many advisers make victory sure.

Focusing on what is TRUTH:

My family loves me and they have been chosen by My Creator to “do life” with me.  The wisdom my Father and Mother possess has been developed over decades and decades of “life experiences.” Along with my study of God’s Word, my parent’s guidance, and my freedom to make wiser choices, I now move forward.  I choose to seek wisdom and understanding in the area of finances.

**********************************************************************

  • THE FINANCIAL LIES we as woman tell ourselves…..

I want it and I want it now. I deserve it; I work hard.

Guard your heart…

Proverbs 12:15a NIV

The way of a fool seems right to him,

 Focusing on what is TRUTH:

I am a confident and intelligent woman. I am guided moment by moment by the Spirit of God. I am a steward of His finances….

I will pray and patiently wait on the Lord to either provide for my NEEDS directly or provide the means to pay “cash.”

OR

I peacefully accept God’s answer of “no” or “wait” when seeing something I would like to buy. God’s timing is perfect and He has my ABSOLUTE BEST interest in mind at this time.

*******************************************************************

  • THE FINANCIAL LIES we as woman tell ourselves…..

My husband does not handle the money for our household. I am totally stressed out by trying to make ends meet. He lives on another planet when it comes to our household finances.

 Guard your heart…

Proverbs 27:15 NIV

A quarrelsome wife is like
a constant dripping on a rainy day;

Proverbs 25:24 NIV

Better to live on a corner of the roof
than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.

Proverbs 21:19 NIV

Better to live in a desert
than with a quarrelsome and ill-tempered wife.

 Focusing on what is TRUTH:

The Lord has designed me as a knowledgeable and suitable help meet to my husband.  It is a privilege to be used of the Lord in this area to advance His kingdom.  My husband has full confidence that I can handle this task he has appointed to me. I will pray for God’s direction and peace as I handle my assigned task.

Encouragement:

Proverbs 31:11 NIV

Her husband has full confidence in her
and lacks nothing of value.

As women, wives, or mothers… May we meditate on God’s Word together as we desire to serve Him and bring glory to His name.

In His service,

