Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Portion Control…sigh

Isn’t portion control a popular diet fad? If we could increase the portion of the “good” stuff and decrease the portion of the “bad” stuff, we would be more… proportionate, right? As one who has struggled with too much weight for many years, a portion lecture is usually met with the rolling of eye balls, heavy sighing, and fingers in my ears while humming loudly. If the “good” stuff tasted better and the “bad” stuff tasted gross, this whole portion problem might be solved! There is one thing, though, that needs no portioning, in fact, you can have as much of it as you want. You can have as much as you can possibly stand to take in.

God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26

“The LORD is my portion, says my soul; therefore will I hope in him.” Lamentations 3:24

Let’s define the word portion…

to separate

to deal or distribute, divide,

to give or receive an allotment or inheritance

WOW!!! Of all the bounty in the world, God separated Himself out for me. He dealt the cards and I got, not the Jack, or the Queen or the King, but the King of Kings. He surveyed his kingdom, and asked how he was going to divide up the goods. Who gets the streets of gold? What about those pearly gates? What did he decide to give his child?… Himself.

Psalm 16:5

The Lord is my chosen and assigned portion, my cup…yes, I have a good inheritance.

What value do I give my portion? Is it like grandpa’s house that I know is a money pit? Do I sigh when I hear my allotment? How precious is my inheritance? There are some days that I ask, is this really all I get? We have a saying in our family when we start to argue over the color of the cereal bowl or the popsicle flavor, “You get what you get and you don’t pitch a fit!” If we truly understand how infinitely valuable our portion is there wouldn’t be any fit pitchin’. It takes time to realize the worth of our portion. As we continue interacting, and knowing God, we will not be disappointed in our allotment.

In Genesis 14, Abraham won a decisive victory over his enemies, but refused to take his portion of the plunder. In the very next verse, God says,

Fear not, I am your shield, your abundant compensation, your very great reward.

Abraham got a priceless promise that was worth far more than any worldly share.

Read through Psalm 73. David is wondering why he should continue to follow righteousness, when it is apparent that evil men are prospering- financially, physically, and famously. In spite of all the wicked’s “successes,” David’s conclusion is,

 My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the Rock and firm strength of my heart and my portion forever.

We have not gotten the short end of the stick when things were divvied up. This portion will never be bankrupt, it will never lose its value, this trust fund will never run dry. The size of this portion is as big as God Himself- we don’t even know what that means. We are welcome to as much of Him as we want, with no guilt!

Let’s gorge ourselves on God.

Rachel

