Tags

, , , , , ,

Sisters,

The Lord has been oh so gently prompting me to write daily. His leading has been in the direction of Scripture for the purpose of encouragement, as well as challenging US as WOMEN in our personal growth.

So…I don’t know how “daily” these blogs will be; but I do pray that God’s Word will encourage and challenge us to live life differently then we have before.

Paul writes:

22 throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception. 23 Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes. 24 Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy.”

Ephesians 4:22-24 New Living Translation (NLT)

To “throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life which is corrupted by lust and deception”

…. Hmm Girlfriend, That’s easier said than done!

Paul mentions some struggles that only Christ can handle.

21 I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. 22 I love God’s law with all my heart. 23 But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. 24 Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? 25a Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. “

Romans 7:21-25a

Christ’s finished work on “THE CROSS” is the threshold to our “new life.” It is the absolute starting point to our wonderful new journey. The CROSS brought with it the Father’s acceptance that Christ’s shed blood ATONED for our sins. Christ’s finished work at Calvary gains me access into Heaven and that alone. Eph. 2:8-9  This is where we begin, at the FOOT of the CROSS.  Now and only now, we are on the “narrow path.” This is where we are transformed from “death to life,” never again to return to “death.”

Paul also mentions in Romans 7:23 that…” there is another power  within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me.”

Again this slavery to sin that Paul states is conquered by: Ephesians 4:23 “Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes.”

The renewing of your mind is done by the Spirit of God through the Word of God!

This all starts by…

spenting time with Him in His Word…..

memorizing His Word…

time in prayer with Him…..

time in quiet solitude.

Then in Ephesians 4:24 we are commanded to, “ Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy.”  We are commanded to be doers of the Word not just hearers…so “ Put on your new nature…today.”

How do we put on the NEW NATURE?

Think About It:

Are you having a difficult time throwing off your Old Sin Nature/The Flesh?

Is your former way of life continuing to creep into your daily activities?

Do you desire a closer walk with Christ and can’t figure out why it’s not happening?

Well, all of the above happen through “transformation” done by the Holy Spirit when you surrender your life to Him, daily, hourly, moment by moment.

Permanent transformation is NEVER accomplished through SELF EFFORT; it is an ongoing process done by the Holy Spirit living within you.

No transformation will occur when we are too busy for God.  He will not make us Holy against our will.

Our culture in itself is a real obstacle when it comes to renewing your thoughts and attitudes. With all of the social media and communication gadgets out there….it can be a challenge to “hear” from God.

 You could try this:

• Shut off your TV

• Turn off your cell phone and stop texting

• Shut off your Ipod and Ipad

• Log off of Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter.

Then…

• Head into a “quiet-solitary place,” a place where you and the Lord won’t be rushed…  

• Grab a notebook and pen…

• Grab your Scripture memory book…

 • Open your heart and mind through prayer and repentance…

• Open your Bible…

• Read, write and meditate on what the Spirit of God has to say personally to you today.

Do this daily.…let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes.  Ephesians 4:23

Remeber…Encourage one another as we daily surrender our will to the Lord.
It is a priviledge to serve the Living God.   I am blessed in sharing with you my daily struggles and what I am learning through His Word.

In His Service, Joan

