Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Ladies,  The average woman speaks 20,000 words a day!! My girlfriend only speaks about 5,000 per day. My Mother-in-law…hmm….maybe 1,500 as she is an introvert.

So my girlfriend and MIL would not be the average. I don’t think I am the average either. The 33,500 words per day that these two ladies don’t use…hmm.. I think I use them!!! lol!

I am thankful that the Lord has blessed me with the

“Joy of Talking.”

Since I enjoy talking so much….there are several times a year that I practice “SILENCE.”

Yes, I make a conscious choice to STOP talking…to enjoy the simple gift of “silence”…even if it is only for just a few hours or for several days.

While I am quiet, I attach an oh-so-small label to my person which reads,

I am in Silence.

This sign assures my husband and children that I am not ignoring them, and that I will respond to their questions in a nonverbal way.

93% of communication is nonverbal.

So what do I do while I am not talking? 

I am LISTENING.

Listening to others while I am “in silence” is VERY DIFFERENT than listening at any other time. This is because no response will be given on my part, therefore, I really listen. I listen with my eyes and ears and with a heart of compassion and mercy. My mind is not busy formulating a response to give advice, guidance or solve a problem.

During my time of silence, I hear God on a much deeper level, because I am not coming to Him with supplications or intercessory prayers.

I am just silent.

I encourage you to participate in a time of “silence.”

 Maybe ponder for yourself these questions:

  • What am I communicating to the people that I am “doing life with?”
  • What nonverbal communication am I displaying?  Are my actions communicating acceptance and love? Are they a beautiful example of Christ’s mercy and grace?
  • Are my actions SCREAMING a warning; am I driving others to tears by my sinful proud behavior?
  • Do I need to use this time to repent of active/known sin in my life that I have refused to deal with?

During this special time, ask God to give you a life verse. A verse that will carry you through this sin ridden world, as we make our journey to our REAL home.

My life verse is:

Proverbs 4:23

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.

This verse I did not personally choose, IT CHOSE ME. The Spirit prompts me often to  focus on this verse and Luke 6:45 which states:

 The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

What are you communicating to others?

I wanted to share just a couple of STOP and START  verses pretaining to the mouth and tongue.

The STOP doing or warning verses are in red.

The START doing verses are in green.

Proverbs 21:23 He who guards his mouth and his tongue keeps himself from calamity.

Proverbs 10:19 When words are many, sin is not absentbut he who holds his tongue is wise.

Proverbs 11:12 A man who lacks judgment derides his neighbor,  but a man of understanding holds his tongue.

Proverbs 12:18 Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.

May God Bless you as you search out the Scriptures for your life verse and many more verses pertaining to our mouths and tongues.

His friend,

