Tags

, , , , , , ,

Proverbs 31:20-21

20 She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy. 21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.

The Proverbs 31 woman is an excellent example for us to follow.

Here she is opening her arms to the poor and extending her hands to the needy because…  she has prepared for times such as these.

  • First and foremost

She has prepared her heart through her time spent in the Word of God.

She gets up while it is still dark;”      Proverbs 31:15a

There are many times in scripture when quiet,sweet communion with our heavenly Father happens while the sun is still hidden.

For me…through the darkness of night, the power of God’s Word transforms my heart and mind. During the stillness, I am changing. It is not anything I do, it is simply the result of a “surrendered heart.” While I am “surrendering” my heart…this  is the time God prepares me for His service.  The act of “surrendering” is ongoing, for me it is a day by day, hour by hour, moment by moment…. choice.

By choosing not to spend intimate time with God

 I limit my usefulness to Him.”

  • She has prepared her household…

She has no fear for her household…. simply because she prepared. Our lack of preparation brings fear to many of us. Are you a procrastinator without a plan? An overspender without a budget? A homemaker without a daily list of chores? The Proverbs 31 woman is organized and prepared. I love that her household is clothed in scarlet!! She is free from worry and fear because she has prepared.

Over the next few weeks we will be looking at ….getting prepared and organized.

Let’s start with a PLAN!

We will be looking at the Proverbs 31 woman to lead the way!!

Plan #1 for this week:

Set a bedtime and stick to it!

Think about it:

We cannot rise while it is still dark if we are too tired to pay-attention. Setting a bedtime is not only good for our children, but it’s good for us!

About His Work, Joan

